Coins of the Crusader 
Kingdom of Cyprus

Click on the name to view a summary of coins in the collection.


Loss of Jerusalem to Salah al-Din, 1187


Third Crusade Emperor Frederick I (Barbarossa), Kings Philip Augustus II of France and Richard Coeur De Lion of England 1189-1192

De Lusignan Dynasty

Guy of Lusignan 1192-1194
Aimery of Lusignan 1194-1205
Hugh I 1205-1218

Fourth Crusade against Constantinople 1202-1204

Henry I of Cyprus 1218-1253

Fifth Crusade. Frederick II peacefully regained Jerusalem from the Ayyubids 1228 - 1229. Lost again in 1244

Hugh II of Cyprus 1253-1267

Sixth Crusade against Egypt by Louis IX of France (Saint Louis) 1248-1254

Chatillon Dynasty - Antioch

Hugh III of Cyprus (I of Jerusalem) 1267-1284 
Henry II of Cyprus 1285-1306

Mamluks conquer Antioch in 1268, Tripoli in 1289, and Acre in 1291. End of Outremer 1291

Amalric of Tyre (II of Cyprus) 1306-1310
Henry II of Cyprus (restored) 1310-1324
Hugh IV (II of Jerusalem) 1324-1359
Peter I 1359-1369
Peter II 1369-1382
James I 1382-1398
Janus 1398-1432
John II 1432-1458
Queen Charlotte 1458-1464
James II 1464-1473
James III 1473-1474

All Coins

cyprusmap.JPG (22864 bytes)

Please note that this collection is housed in a private Middle East research facility. You may contact us for more details and if you have a specific research need or if you desire to use any of our images for educational and non-commercial use.
We have tried to make these pages both educational and entertaining. This site is constantly under construction. If this site has been useful for you or you have enjoyed visiting it, please consider making a donation to the collection. You can make a cash donation through paypal. Just click here: 

Maraya Galleries